Posted by: marisundays | July 10, 2011

Ties that bind

As I greet this Sunday, I am filled with gratitude and appreciation for all that surrounds me.  Get out early and enjoy the benefits of movement, relaxation and rejuvenation.
We will start out for La Sabana in a little while to watch our son play baseball.  This is his last opportunity to play in National Games.  He (and several of his teammates) has been personally competent during the last week, but the team demonstrated clumsily that it takes more than a few weeks of practice to beat opponents (Upala, for example) who practice all year with their minds, bodies and hearts. This is the first time in 20 years that the San José baseball team did not make it to the finals, a surprise for most of us who follow baseball in Costa Rica.
Because our son attends college in the U.S. we no longer attend baseball games here during the year as we used to.  It has been wonderful to catch up with his former teammates and see how they are all doing. It brings me special delight when the young men seek my husband and me out to greet us, to share the details of their current lives and to reminisce about the early years when they were awkward and totally unskilled in the game. It proves to me that the bonds made in childhood remain important for us all no matter what age we are.  I am happy to have made some special bonds during my life, how about you?
I wish you a wonderful day, and a week filled with many and good surprises.
Leave a Reply

Categories

