Posted by: marisundays | January 22, 2012

Writing without a muse!

Dear Friends,

A lovely day greets me today. I feel refreshed and ready to tackle whatever the day holds for me. Get out early and move around a bit if you can. Don’t wait until it’s too late and all your other obligations steal away your day.

I am not a procrastinator. This has nothing to do with some superior standards of mine, it is simply a practical response to my upbringing. When my siblings and I were growing up in New York, we had our work cut out for us by the reality of having two working parents. We each had chores and responsibilities. As a true Virgo, I was extremely critical of myself if failure to complete my tasks caused my mother to whine when she arrived in the evening after a long day of work. I would do anything to avoid hearing that unpleasant complaining. As a consequence, I got into the habit of doing more than I was expected to, and finishing faster so I could have time for my hobbies, especially reading.

I usually think about what I will be writing on Sundays during the week. I was so busy this week, I hardly had time to smell the roses that I often suggest you do. Late last night, I began to think about what I would write you this morning. When my daughter came to bid me goodnight, I threw my hands up in despair and said: “It’s gone, the muse is gone. After all these years of writing, I have nothing left to say to my readers. I think I’ll just tell them I’ve run out of inspiration, that I’m giving up my e-pistle.”

My daughter kept silent for a moment and then said: “Mom, you can’t sign off; you can’t give up.” I replied that inspirational writers quit all the time, why should it be different for me? She just looked at me and said, because you’re you and you don’t do that. Then she kissed me goodnight and went to her room, leaving me perplexed, curious and still without a topic!

I sat silently digesting my daughter’s words and analyzing their meaning. I realized that she perceives me as someone who perseveres in the face of difficulty and works hard to come out on the other side. A wave of nostalgia hit me as I recalled hearing my mother once describe me in the same way. Long, long ago, I decided that I would be a person who could be counted on, probably because so many people let me down and I hated the feeling. Last night, my daughter reminded me that I have readers whom I would disappoint if I didn’t write them each week. I am not in the habit of disappointing…I won’t start today, even if my muse is on vacation!

Have a wonderful day, and a terrific week! Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

