Posted by: marisundays | March 25, 2012

A tiny garden

Dear Friends,

Greetings on this splendid day. The winds have quieted down so we can all enjoy a nice walk about the
neighborhood. Get out early so you can savor the day and take in the spectacular, dramatic summer landscape.
Today is the final day of the FIA in Sabana Park. Closer to home, the Atenas Oxcart Drivers Association is
having an auction at noon and a Rodeo at 5 p.m. in Plancillo. Maybe I’ll see you there.

I have found myself immersed in the tasks involved with organizing the Climate Fair that CATUCA will host next
month. Regardless of how busy I am, my ‘regular’ life goes on. ‘Regular’ life for me happily includes my family and friends,
our pets and our home. The last two weeks have also found us hosting my husband’s cousin in her first visit to our
country. I enjoy a newcomer’s visit because it allows me to see all of my blessings from another person’s
perspective. One of these blessings is our daughter’s art teacher who has always been one of my favorite
people due to his authenticity and unpretentiousness.

We visited the art studio and he spent some time showing our cousin his looms and various completed weaving projects.
She particularly enjoyed this visit because she is herself a weaver. While I admire this type of activity, I confess I would be
unable to set aside the countless hours required to complete a piece of work. I purchase a finished product, preferably
woven by hand, though, and not by machine!

As we were leaving the studio, I noticed a tiny garden. I peeked closer and remarked that I had never seen so much produce in
a miniature setting in the ‘city’. He laughed and told me that he had just that morning given away a great deal of his harvest to
make room for the new seedlings to flourish. I inquired about pests (he removes them by hand). I asked him how he found time for his
garden between painting, carving, weaving and teaching. As he was pulled out some bok choy for us, he answered that his daily
routine (for mental health) includes a short visit to the garden. It grounds him for the rest of the day. As you can probably guess,
I am looking forward (again!) to the rainy season. I hope to regale you with success stories of my own harvest in the next few
months. Why not join me in this endeavor?

Have a wonderful Sunday and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

