Posted by: marisundays | May 6, 2012

Climate Fair in Atenas

Dear Friends,

After last night’s heavy downpour, I awaken to a gorgeous sunny morning. The ‘green’ season is finally here. The
anticipated late day showers require us to get out early to move and enjoy this gift of sun. I invite us all to take advantage of the morning so we can enjoy that afternoon nap without remorse!

Last weekend, we celebrated the Climate Fair and Oxcart Parade in our county. The goal of the Climate Fair is to provide the community with a few days of culture and recreation; to showcase local, regional, national and international crafts and foods; and to fortify family and community connections. We choose artists and groups that are well-known, have been recommended and are appropriate for the general public. We work on details for the Climate Fair for many months to provide access to high-level artistic spaces right here at home. It’s an alcohol free celebration which grows year after year and involves the help of many volunteers, to whom I offer my heartfelt thanks.

This year’s Climate Fair was spectacular. We were favored with great weather, wonderful entertainment, large crowds of happy participants and a wide assortment of foods and crafts. The most encouraging observation I heard was from a woman who plans to perfect her jewelry-making skills and have a stand next year. When I asked her if she hoped to make lots of money selling her product, she laughed and said, “No, I just want to have an excuse to be in the park for three days and enjoy the engaging atmosphere and see what new surprises have been planned for us!”

One gratifying outcome (for me) of working with the same people for many years is that our partnership is very
genuine. We are like-minded in what we hope to present and accomplish. We have a true awareness of one another’s strengths and limitations. Everyone knows that I am great with administrative details but hopeless with decorations or at keeping track of my personal belongings! My teammates silently (and cheerfully, I might add) ‘supervise’ me and make me feel cared for. This is one of many benefits of working with an exceptional group of volunteers who give time, energy and skills each year. Studies have shown that volunteering is a great way to give back to the community and has a great impact on your well-being. I, for one, can attest to the benefits, how about you?

Have a wonderful day and a productive week, Marietta

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

