Posted by: marisundays | May 27, 2012

Grateful for my blessings

 

Dear friends,

This morning surrounds me with a sublime landscape, the perfect accompaniment for the gratitude
I feel for the chance to live another good day. I hope the same is true for all of you and I encourage you
to get out there early and make the most of the day, wherever it finds you.

I made it to the local farmer’s market on Friday morning just before 10 a.m. My mission was to purchase
a few basil plants to have available for our son’s caprese salads upon his return home from New York next week.
I was determined to avoid socializing, an impossible undertaking given my nature! Many people greeted me as I
was conducting my transaction with the plant vendor, Juan. As it is inconceivable to me not to engage in a few minutes
of chitchat with each person, before I knew it, more than an hour had passed and I was still negotiating my
purchase. Juan was entertained by each of my conversations, and I learned all about the medicinal plants displayed in his stall!

During our small talk, I suddenly remembered (with some guilt) all of the chores I had left undone, mainly
a few loads of laundry. I had unrealistically calculated that I would be back home in an hour. It was almost 1:00 by the
time I returned and I was going to meet a friend for coffee a couple of hours later. The laundry, never my favorite chore, would have to wait another day since the morning sun was now gone and other obligations (dinner) were in the forefront.
The afternoon sped by quickly and when I returned from my coffee engagement, I spied the basil plants ready to be
taken to the garden. I decided they would be okay where they were for another day.

After dinner on Friday night, I remarked to our daughter that I felt somewhat disappointed in myself because my day
had been disjointed and I should have curtailed some of my socializing. She smiled as she nodded but said nothing. I went to sleep committed to rising early on Saturday to do the laundry and the gardening. I rose early, rested and in good
spirits. I made my way to the laundry room, and I spotted some of my clothes hanging on the line. I found the other clothing clean and neatly folded. What a wonderful surprise! I was so grateful to our daughter for this gift that I was tempted to wake her up to tell her so! Instead, I let her sleep and spent a few minutes with my coffee (from Atenas, of course) quietly reflecting on all the blessings in my life. I invite you to do likewise today.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific, fun-filled week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

