Posted by: marisundays | July 29, 2012

Hydrangea route

Dear Friends,

I am greeted by a sunless drizzly morning which calls to mind those prevalent in Costa Rica in September. The air is cooler than
on most mornings during July. I am tempted to stay under the covers just a little longer. Alas, my Sunday writing practice beckons
me and I find myself searching for the words that will coax us to venture out, umbrella and boots in hand! A few minutes of movement is appreciated by our bodies. Rain or shine, it is a joy to be alive and have the chance to make some memories.

July is quickly coming to an end. In contrast to my eagerness for June to be over, I find myself somewhat despondent to have to say
goodbye to July. July brought me many lovely surprises. I met numerous new people who I hope will be in my life for years to come. I became re-acquainted with individuals I had not seen for many months and whose friendship I value. It was a month of activity on personal, professional and familial settings. I have certainly lived this month to the fullest and I am deeply satisfied with my contribution to the people and places around me. My expectations for August are high!

One of the highlights of July was a visit to the Poas Volcano. The ride was a feast for the eyes. Gigantic, colorful hydrangeas
lined the road. I felt like I had landed on a page of a child’s storybook describing a trip to ‘Flowerland’. I was so intrigued by
the quantity and size of these gorgeous flowers that I made a mental note to do some research. Sure enough, the “Hydrangea Route”
was a planned community response to the 6.2 earthquake of 2009 that affected the region and its tourism. My admiration and fondness for this region increased upon learning about this project and the thousands of people involved in these recovery efforts.

We arrived at the Poas Volcano early enough to see the bubbling, green lake surrounded by the smoke and steam from the fumaroles. Ten minutes later, when dozens of foreign eager tourists arrived, the lake was completely clouded and would surely remain that way for the rest of the day. I was grateful that we had heeded the advice of our tour guide and got an early start that day. It was truly a case of the early bird catching the worm! I invite us all to seize each day and live it to the fullest, starting with this one.

Have a wonderful day and prepare for an awesome August, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

