Posted by: marisundays | August 5, 2012

Coexistence

Dear Friends,

It’s a gorgeous, sunny day in my community. I look forward to a few minutes of gentle movement early this morning while absorbing the sights and sounds of nature. I invite you all to do the same, wherever the day finds you. The months are quickly heading us towards year’s end, don’t let August get away from you.

Most weekday mornings, after I have had my first cup of coffee (from Atenas, you guessed it!), browsed La Nación and had a quick look at the day’s emails, I make my way to the pool to swim my laps. For the last several years, I have been greeted by the sound the rustle of leaves makes when our resident iguanas scurry for cover and safety! There are days when I remember their existence and descend the stairs quietly so as not to spook them. More often, however, we startle one another and react in accordance with our survival instincts: I stop dead
in my tracks until they disappear and they dash wildly in the direction of their favorite hiding place!

On Friday, I strolled to the pool, lost in thought while distractedly admiring the beauty surrounding me on that fine morning. I found myself in the region with my live-in lizards before they or I had time to react. I continued my advance serenely as they perched gloriously atop two magnificent rocks on either side of the stairs. I was amused when I noticed that a faint sound from me had elicited only a tiny cautious glance my way from these dwellers. They were too happy basking in the sun to run away and hide from me that day.

Once on the pool deck I prepared myself for my ‘dive’. Before donning my swim cap, goggles and nose clip, I looked quickly at the iguanas whose stretched bodies seemed to meld into the rocks they were on; their colors an identical gray. My attention was suddenly diverted when I noticed a young green iguana fusing with the foliage around it as it made its way down the slope. I made mental notes of nature’s array of colors and protective mechanisms for its living beings. A wave of gratitude washed over me when I realized that our property is
perceived as a sanctuary by these creatures. We have endeavored to make our home a sanctuary for our family which now includes our four dogs, many birds and these iguanas! Life is good here. We know it and coexist in harmony. I hope the same is true for you.

Have a peaceful day and an inspiring week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

