Posted by: marisundays | September 15, 2013

Blessings on a Sunday!

Dear Friends,
 
I woke up this morning feeling rested and very content.  Within minutes, my first cup of coffee (from Atenas of course!) 
appeared and a delicious breakfast soon followed.    I am grateful once again for my husband’s unchanging practice 
of pampering me in this way on Sundays; a typical day begins with additional joy.  Make time today for movement 
and healthy nutrition, you’ll feel glad you did it, I know I always do.
 
My trip back to Costa Rica last week was filled with many emotions.  I was sad to leave my children and my friends,
but at the same time, I felt enthusiastic about continuing the journey that my husband and I began when we married.
Our children are healthy, happy and competent young adults who are beginning their own voyages.   Now it is time
for us to discover and appreciate all that life has in store for us going forward.  
 
Today is Costa Rica’s 192nd Independence Day.  It always surprises me to see the extent of patriotism in evidence at
this time of the year every year.  The children work on their lanterns for weeks; there are competitions held in institutions
which award originality and tradition in decorations; the typical food and music of the country are the main features of
supermarkets and homes; and there is unmistakeable satisfaction as we observe the flame of the Independence torch 
travel through our towns.  Patriotism is not always evident when it comes time to vote, but that is a topic for another day!
 
I went to visit my parents last week and I watched my mother playing silently with the dolls that are suspended above
her bed.  Although my mother has been in this state for years, I am still nostalgic for the vibrant woman she once was.
I take comfort in the fact that I am fortunate to have so many memories and written proof from her numerous letters to me
over the years.  She would be delighted to know that her grandchildren remember her fondly and still chuckle with love
as they recall some of her sayings.  My father continues to be an inspiration at 84 and I consider him a magnificent
blessing in my life.  Let’s count our blessings as we go about our day, I know they are many.
 
Have a great day and a wonderful week, Marietta 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

