Posted by: marisundays | May 11, 2014

Celebrating Mother’s Day

Dear Friends,
 
A gorgeous sunny morning greets me and I hope the same is true for you wherever 
you welcome it.  Today Mother’s Day is being celebrated in the U.S. and a lot of other
countries.   My very best wishes to all of you (moms and dads) who celebrate this day.
The day holds a new opportunity for all of us to make a difference in our own life and
the life of those around us.   Get out there early and appreciate the moments of your day!   
 
“I was a perfect mother until I had kids!”  I heard a woman say once.  I often remember
those words these days and smile when I recall that the same was true for me. Before I
was a mother, I was able to see exactly what other mothers were doing wrong!  I knew 
I would never repeat their mistakes!  Alas, the children came and real life got in the way.
All my carefully thought-out formulas became irrelevant in the face of real-time situations.
I second guessed my decisions, made many mistakes and mostly hoped that I was being a
‘good enough’ mother.  Children are extremely resilient, forgiving and admiring of those
they love and in whose care they are entrusted to.  Our children fit this category.
 

Our sons and our daughter have been talking about Mother’s Day for the last several 
weeks probably because it has been 15 years since I actually celebrated a Mother’s Day
in New York.  For the first time in a long time, I did make a request that they all set aside 
some time to spend with me.  I have always found it amusing that the marketing masters 
are determined to turn every holiday into a cash cow for their business.   This year is no
different but instead of perfume, flowers or chocolates, I asked for the gift of their time, 
something as valuable for them to give as for me to receive and no money has to be spent.
 
We enjoyed many wonderful laughs and as I write these words, I can hear our three 
children delighting in each other’s company with witty conversation while playing
video games like they did when they were much younger and had lots of free time!
Moments like these are the ones that reassure me that I have been a ‘good enough’ mom
and that I am worthy of celebrating my motherhood today and every day.
 
Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta  

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

