Posted by: marisundays | June 8, 2014

Photo on 5-22-14 at 10.33 AM

Dear Friends,

Greetings on another renewal Sunday; it seems the weeks just fly by!
Get out there early today and move your body in loving gratitude for
all the things you have: your family, your health and your desire to
improve everything around you in whatever small or large way you can.

Two of our children will come home for a visit in the next several weeks.
It is always delightful when they are able to spend time here with their
family and friends engaging in activities that rekindle their bond. I know
that we will all have our own mental version of this precious time after-
wards. Nothing is more valuable to me than making memories that I can
remember with pleasure in the future.

I am aware that most parents begin the journey with the very best
intentions when it comes to their children. We long to give them all
the material possessions we did not have when we were growing up. It
sometimes feels like we are bestowing ‘stuff’ on our children rather than
spending time with them when time and love are necessary ingredients
which can help nurture feelings of peace and stillness within.

When I was a teenager, I couldn’t wait for school vacation to begin so I
could enjoy long, lazy, carefree summer days. Unfortunately my desire
to make the most of vacation had me filling the days with projects. I
dismissed my mother’s suggestion that I should just enjoy the present
before it became the past, reasoning she was too old to remember what
it was like to be eager for the next thing to happen now!

Getting older has allowed me to view life from different perspectives.
I treasure every waking moment now more than ever. I strive to fill my
days with mostly positive people and activities that enrich my existence
and nurture my soul. Raising children who (so far!) enjoy coming home
is a heartwarming accomplishment which I hope you can all identify
with!

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Responses

  1. Thanks for the wonderful reminder: “It’s not about the ‘stuff”! Enjoy the precious time with family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

