Posted by: marisundays | August 24, 2014

Bittersweet Memories

Photo on 5-22-14 at 10.33 AM

Dear Friends,

The sun is shining through the lightweight curtains in our New York
home. Its energy radiates in all directions, reminding me that wherever
I am, I am still connected to all the people who are part of my life. Go
outside and stretch your limbs gently, breathing in the cool or warm
air, grateful that you can feel your connection to everything. Do it
early, before the day gets away from you.

I can hear St. Theresa’s church bells ringing from where I sit. In a,
flash, I am reminded that Sundays are special days for rest, relaxation
and joyous contemplation upon all the good in our world. Despite
all the atrocities we have been bombarded with this week, I feel the
need to discipline myself to detach from the temptation to add to the
world’s suffering by allowing hopelessness and despair to enter my
heart. An attitude of optimism is always a better choice. I seek to
remember that I am responsible for the thoughts I allow to remain in
my mind.

Our week here was very busy. I attended a fundraising event/reunion
in Red Hook, Brooklyn and saw people I hadn’t seen in over 45 years!
It is amazing how easily events from grammar school came to mind
when hearing former classmates reminiscing about those years. When
I was asked why I live in (exotic) Costa Rica, I remembered that in those
early years my parents’ directive for our assimilation precluded advertising
our immigrant status. For most classmates, I am just as “American” as
they, a distinction I am very proud of because we worked hard to earn it!

I thoroughly enjoyed enlightening my pals, especially in light of the
current positive press Costa Rica has had as a result of our World Cup
performance and our long-standing history of peace and environmental
protection. I admit we still have lots of work ahead of us. As I sat
in the audience and looked around me, I felt an incredible bond as I
recalled the school uniforms, the antics, the revelry and finally the
graduation to the ‘real’ life I have now. I am sure you have many of the
same bittersweet-type memories which are fun to recall now and then.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Responses

  1. I can just see you at the reunion, BG! How fun. Wow, you conjure up memories just by saying Red Hook! Nice post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

