Posted by: marisundays | February 8, 2015

Going carless!

Photo Hazy Sunday

Dear Friends,

I’m starting my e-pistle a little earlier today so the air is still a bit crisp. I can see
the sun peeking through as the hushed sounds of a variety of birds reach my ears.
The sky is the color of milk right now with ribbons of blue streaking across it.
The mountains in the distance are just becoming visible and I feel secure in their
presence. Get out early today and appreciate all the beauty that surrounds you.

February, the month of friendship and love, gives us the opportunity to show
and tell our loved ones how much we care for them. It is also a good time to
be gentle and kind with ourselves and recognize all of the things that we do for
others on a regular basis. In this fast-paced world, we often forget to make time
to enjoy the things we are interested in and that is not always a good idea. It is
fair to be a little bit selfish every once in a while.

Last week, I found myself carless and using public transportation for the first time
in a while. I was able to experience for myself what it is like to travel by bus from
Atenas to San José and back on Highway 27. Once in San José, I was entertained
by two extremely pleasant (if opinionated) taxi drivers who regaled me with their
thoughts on everything from national politics to the (sad, in their view) changes in
gender roles in Costa Rica.

I found myself listening intently to their thoughts and filing away the topics that
I feel deserve further contemplation and research. On the bus ride back, the motion
and muted engine rumble rocked me to sleep until we reached Atenas! Going carless
proved to be a very positive temporary condition because I was able to contemplate
the landscape from a different angle and consider points of view that are completely
different from my own.

Today is the 8th annual Chili Fiesta (formerly Chili Cook-Off) in Atenas. The change
in venue to the Sabana Larga arena will provide lots of room to enjoy hot dogs, live
music, horse shows and pony rides, and of course the chili competition which is the
event’s main attraction. Tom and Kay Costello (the founders of the event) have just
returned to the U.S. but their legacy lives on and the Hogar de Vida’s children will
continue to benefit as a result of their noble idea. I hope to see many of you there!

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Responses

  1. Well done. Yes, going carless (love the phraseology) does change one’s perspective. It’s a good thing to do to see another angle of life here in Costa Rica! Nice post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

