Posted by: marisundays | April 12, 2015

Livestock Auction in the Hogar de Ancianos Atenas

Photo on 3-20-15 at 11.21 AM #2
Dear Friends,

Greetings on this beautiful Sunday morning which we all hope will be less windy than
the last few Sundays have been. Let’s breathe deeply, being fully present and aware
with our body and mind. It is amazing what a few minutes of gentle movement can
do to help us reconnect with all the positive feelings and ideas that seem to vanish as
we engage in the routines that keep us so busy. Celebrate the day!

Writing brings me joy. Having time to actually draft the inspired musings that come to
me sometimes during the day is very rewarding. I am particularly appreciative of the
applications on the smart phones that allow me to record the scenes I observe when
writing instruments are not available. One day I hope to go back and actually make
something of the encrypted revelations that motivate me to pay attention to life as it
happens and that provide me with so many fond memories.

This past week has been filled with many terrific activities. One that stands out in
particular is a multicultural fair that was held at the UTN Balsa campus which was
attended by about 400 students from 4 or 5 of the UTN branches in the country. The
energy and raw appreciation of young, engaged students is something that always
invigorates me. I was delighted to also have had an opportunity to watch a large group
of Senior Citizens (the oldest is 86!) performing traditional Costa Rican dances with
incredible exuberance. I think it is wonderful for young people to interact with elders.

…and speaking of elders: today is the livestock auction at the local Hogar de Ancianos
to raise funds to fill the gap between what it actually costs to care for our Seniors
and what is provided by government institutions and the fees those living there pay.
Since becoming a member of the board of this excellent residence, I am filled with a
desire to learn all I can about the needs and wants of this population. I am impressed
with the person-centered care that I have seen and it makes me very optimistic that
there is a place right here where people are committed to providing quality attention.

Hogar

Have a terrific day and a wonderful week, Marietta

Responses

  1. YOU are a gem – so caring and loving. Thank you for this beautiful post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

