Posted by: marisundays | April 19, 2015

The benefits of volunteering!

Photo on 4-8-14 at 9.58 AM #3Dear Friends,

It’s a lovely, quiet and sunny morning as I begin my narrative today. I will keep it
very brief because I have to head out early to the Hogar de Ancianos, but I do
encourage you to enjoy the day and begin it with some movement and activities you
take pleasure in.

The Hogar de Ancianos annual fundraiser is in full swing. I spent the late afternoon
to evening there yesterday and I was overwhelmed by the amount of people that came
to support this tradition. The many events scheduled allow people with varied interests
to participate in a very worthwhile cause. There is something for everyone, even if it is
just sitting with friends enjoying delicious traditional food or pastries. I hope to see
you there later!

In the early morning it is easy to see the details that are screened once participants
begin filling up the space. Today is day three of the event and I imagine a few of my
colleagues spent many hours clearing tables last night and picking up garbage so that
all will be bright and clean for this morning attendees. Many volunteers and I have
worked together in the past which is great because we have learned each other’s styles
and strong points. I particularly enjoy watching young people carry out their duties
with good humor and efficiency.

I believe firmly that we have a responsibility to help and support the communities
where we live and work. My involvement in community service has become second
nature, something I learned from my parents whose own community service leadership
was very beneficial to all the areas they lived in. Many studies have demonstrated that
helping others kindles happiness, improves social and relationship skills, and allows us
to make new friendships or strengthen existing ones. And that’s just to name a few!

Have a great day and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

