Posted by: marisundays | June 28, 2015

An exceptional cornfield

Photo on 3-20-15 at 11.21 AM #2
Dear Friends,

I awakened this morning, not because of sound but because there was none. We lost
electricity and a deep silence resulted when the whir of the ceiling fan ceased. I looked
at my watch and read the time: 5:58 a.m. I was relieved that it was so early. I felt
confident that the power would be back and I would be able to write my Sunday
message before it got too late in the day. I made the necessary report to the service
provider and then lazily headed back to lay my head on my pillow for a while longer.

It is now almost four hours later. I am happy that my computer had been fully
charged before I went to sleep last night because that has allowed me to outline my
reflections. Although I am sure you have by now formed a wonderful Sunday habit,
I still enjoy reminding my readers to get out and enjoy a bit of movement and
relaxation each week. Today is a good day to go to the park of Atenas; we will
be the focus of the television program Aguadulce which is being filmed in our
community until 1 p.m.

Aguadulce was first produced in the 90’s and its goal was to promote a kinship among
the different communities in Costa Rica by discovering the marvels of each zone and
sharing them with the viewing public. The show’s producers wish to focus not only on
the gifts Nature has bestowed on each area but also exhibit the works of craftspeople,
artists, musicians and the everyday people who are an integral part of our county and
shape the very unique culture that is deeply instilled in our hearts.

Hogar de Ancianos Atenas

I was once again at the Hogar de Ancianos in Atenas yesterday for our semi-annual
assembly. Of all the associations I have worked with, this is the one that fills me with
a profound awareness of what it means to be a part of something important. We were
able to listen to don Ezekiel’s experience as a current resident of the Hogar. He proudly
showed us his “milpa” (cornfield) and recounted all the benefits he has in living at the
Hogar. He admitted he was reluctant to become a resident and did so only when his
circumstances changed and he had little choice. He spoke about his room, his
meals, the kindness of the staff and with a twinkle in his eye, he concluded that
“they even take us on field trips!” He is happy he made the decision and invited us
to have “chorreadas”(corn fritters) in August when his cornfield is ready for harvesting!

IMG_4431
Don Ezequiel and Hogar Director Ana Lissette

I left the assembly with a happy heart and thankful to have been a small part of the
team. We have all been asked (and accepted) to stay on as board members and we
will continue to seek opportunities to apply our philosophy towards aging: late-life
development and growth is not only possible, it is empowering for us all.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

