Posted by: marisundays | October 25, 2015

Making a good idea work!

Photo on 9-1-15 at 1.56 PM

Dear Friends,

Welcome to Sunday, a day in which we can refill our souls and take
the time to be grateful for all our blessings. Before I began writing
this morning, I sat outside for a few minutes taking deep breaths and
relaxing. I paid attention to the gentle layers of sound around me (the
magpies in the distance; the swallows in the eaves; my husband beating
eggs in the kitchen) and this centered me and reminded me of how
wonderful it is to greet a new day filled with possibilities.

Our town has been celebrating its Patron Saint (St. Rafael) for the past
week. It has been delightful to witness the turnout and the creativity
in the gatherings which have included parades, religious acts, musical
events and plenty of food! There are all day activities today which I urge
you to enjoy with your family and friends. I applaud the efforts of all
the people who have been organizing this festival for the past several
months with love and dedication for the county and its residents. They
have organized something for everyone, from children to seniors!

Whenever I find my energy lowered by a seemingly unsurmountable
obstacle towards success in one of my projects, it helps me to connect
with people who can provide a different perspective. Spending time at
the Hogar de Ancianos (Senior Home) has made it possible for me to
appreciate the value of listening to someone else’s life experiences and
hear how they arrived where they are. Some of the elders are eager to
share their stories and often spend long days when no one drops by to
visit them. Although I have not devoted as much time as I would like to
learn everyone’s name or story, it is something I will do in the near future.

We are approaching the holidays again. As in previous years, the Angel
Tree project is being organized by Su Espacio and its new administrators
Corinna and David with Tina Newton’s assistance. Once again (and sadly),
the names of over 300 underprivileged children have been received. In order
for these children to share in the spirit of the season, local patrons who will
sponsor the entertainment, refreshments and gifts are being sought. Tina
once told me that “when it’s a good idea, people jump in and make it work”.
I hope that this year, as in the past, all of us volunteer to make it work.

Have a great day and a wonderful week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

