Posted by: marisundays | November 22, 2015

Baking cookies!

Photo on 9-1-15 at 1.56 PM

Dear Friends,

Today greeted me with sunshine and the songs of the birds that serve to
soothe my spirit and bring me joy. I look forward to living a special day
filled with the gratitude that comes from knowing how fortunate I am to
have wonderful people and blessings in my life. I encourage you to get
out early and look for the good in the gifts Nature brings each day.

I love cookies! Beginning December 1st (until December 12th) for the
past decade, I have been receiving the Food Network’s cookie recipes
which are offered in preparation for upcoming Holiday celebrations. My
fascination with baking cookies began when our children were small and
we needed ways to entertain them in the cold, winter days in New York
that did not involve spending a lot of time in front of the television.

cookies

Our children loved everything about cookie making: mixing the batter,
greasing the pans, rolling and cutting the dough, decorating their master-
pieces, and finally the intoxicating aromas that they knew would be followed
by a tasting session! When I reminisce about those days my heart fills with
delight and thankfulness that I was able to have this special time with them,
especially now that they are all grown up and baking their own creations!

This Thursday will be a special day for everyone who celebrates Thanksgiving.
It is an entire day set aside to be thankful for the comfort and abundance in
our lives. Family and friends share a traditional meal and often travel great
distances to be together. This year, I will not be making the traditional feast but
will instead attend a concert at the Hogar de Ancianos offered by the UCR Guitar
Orchestra who will delight us with their musical talents. It will be an appropriate
celebration of love, kindness and compassion. I am thinking of baking cookies to
share!

Thanksgiving-Cornucopia-Wallpapers

Have a wonderful day, and a terrific week, Marietta
Pictures Bing.com public domain

Responses

  1. Warm, welcoming post. You painted the picture well … ME WANT COOKIES!!

    • I ended up making brownies to share on Thanksgiving at the Hogar but I will be making cookies for the Angel Tree party soon…miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

