Posted by: marisundays | January 3, 2016

Doing things with love and care

Photo on 9-12-15 at 10.36 AM #2

Dear Friends,

I wish you a very heathy and peaceful 2016. As I sit to write these words,
the air is hot around me. The breezes of the morning brush through the
the trees and participate in the leave-dropping process that takes place each
year at this time. Watching the leaves as they make their way to the ground
reminds me that now is a good time to move and breathe and be grateful for
all that my eyes can see. I invite you to do likewise!

A few weeks ago, an acquaintance mentioned that we are heading towards
the yellow months in Costa Rica. Although I had never thought of it that
way in the past, a drive to Alajuela yesterday allowed me to see different
shades of yellow from a distance. I was reminded that the first blooms
of the Cortez amarillo will begin shortly and that their vibrant (and short-
lived) flowers will provide an exhilarating landscape around us.

Yellow has never been my favorite color; it does not leave me with a warm
and satisfying feeling. Since one of my goals for 2016 is to be more open
and welcoming of things previously ignored or rejected, I made a point of
paying attention to my reaction to the different shades of yellow. From a
distance, dark yellow flowers feel heavy to me yet the yellow of the flycatcher
on my terrance seems bright and breezy. The way my mind and eyes work
is fascinating and something I will definitely explore in the months to come.

Another modest goal that I have for 2016 is to devote more of my time to the
small, ordinary tasks that I know will lead to a simpler, less cluttered existence.
In 2015, I was able to extricate myself from activities that provided no real
joy. I feel that doing so has allowed me to spend the time getting involved
with projects and people that provide me with a great deal of satisfaction. I
hope to continue to grow and to focus on doing all things with love and care.

My best wishes to you all for a wonderful 2016, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

