Posted by: marisundays | January 24, 2016

Winter Storm Jonas

Photo on 11-17-15 at 11.59 AM

Dear Friends,

A beautiful crisp sunny Sunday morning greets me. The breezes are absent
for the moment and from where I’m sitting a can see two small swallows
perched on the edge of our roof; their busy twittering reminding me that it
is possible to live in the moment with focus. Although they are sometimes
startled away by my presence, they are too busy with their conversation to
pay any attention to me! Their energy reminds me to stretch, breathe and be
grateful to live a new day.

Winter storm Jonas has buried a good portion of the Northeast of the U.S. with
more than two feet (61 cm) of snow in New York City. Although the snow has
ended, this storm will not soon be forgotten and it will take a while before the
cleanup is completed. My thoughts are with our children and all our friends
who have to confront Nature’s challenge as they get on with the obligations of
their lives despite this major disruption.

Derek's block

It is comforting and entertaining to see how people are coping with this event.
Some are taking advantage of the opportunity to reconnect with loved ones,
catch up on reading or television, or simply sitting with the solitude of an
altered (albeit brief) daily existence. In this particular moment, as I sit and
contemplate the spectacular (still green) landscape that presents itself to me,
I appreciate the life I am privileged to have, deeply aware that each moment
is precious and not to be taken for granted.

Yesterday was the semi-annual assembly at the Hogar de Ancianos. My
colleagues and the administration highlighted many of the accomplishments
of the past six months and summarized the working plan for the near future.
We were very happy with the turnout and our reports met with the approval of
those assembled. I continue to admire this noble institution’s personnel for
their dedication and attitude towards the aging process and senior care.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

