Posted by: marisundays | May 22, 2016

Music as muse

Photo on 2-14-16 at 7.45 AMDear Friends,

Greetings on this beautiful, sunny day. As I stretch and gaze all around me, I
am moved by the amazing way the recently-started rainy season is working to
paint the landscape with the strong greens that stir deep emotional feelings in
me. I know that the yellows and browns of the dry season possess their own
beauty, but it is in the lush greens that I find the most inspiration. Get out early
today and take in everything that is around you, mindfully for the most benefit.

I often listen to music on YouTube before I begin writing. While I sip my coffee
(from Atenas, you guessed it!) I randomly jump from one genre to another hoping
the muse will materialize before the morning gets away from me. Every so often,
I get lost on YouTube, forgetting that its intended purpose for me on Sundays is
to serve as background for motivation. Today I landed on a video of Andrea Bocelli
and Celine Dion singing “The Prayer”. The song itself evokes intense tenderness;
the duo’s beautiful harmony communicates directly to my heart.

Andrea Bocelli has been one of my favorite tenors since I first heard him in 1995
or early 1996. I remember walking the aisles of J&R Music World in Manhattan
and stopping in my tracks when I heard him sing. At the time, one of our sons was
around 3 and I remember daydreaming that he could one day be a tenor too! I was
still too new a mother to realize that children grow up and make their own choices!
I am happy, however, that all our children have been exposed to the magic of song.

Music has been an important component in my life ever since I was a child. My
parents owned a vast collection of albums with music ranging from the famous
Latin Trio Los Panchos to the light orchestral music of Mantovani and of course,
the classical music of Mozart, Beethoven and Haydn. I can still remember the days
when I napped on the sofa while my father vacuumed to the beat of Henry Mancini!
I am glad for those memories for they fill my heart with bittersweet nostalgia that
I savor from time to time with my own children and that remind me that every
moment is precious and worth delighting in.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Responses

  1. Lovely and so true. Music sets the stage in so many ways.I play music while I write. If it’s too quiet I can’t focus… Not to mention the music that plays in my head all day long. What comes out of the mouth? Not so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

