Posted by: marisundays | June 19, 2016

A day to celebrate Fathers!

father-day-dog-card

Dear Friends,

Greetings from the sunny part of the Central Valley. The orange jasmine
(murraya paniculata) flowers from last week are gone; their scent replaced
by the delicate aroma emanating from the flowers of our citrus x latifolia
(Persian lime) and citrus x limonia (mandarin lime). Get out early today
with gratitude for the ability to move and take in all of Nature’s gifts.

Father’s Day is being celebrated in many countries around the world today.
Although I rarely succumb to the marketing madness surrounding these
observances, I do spend time thinking about the reasons they exist. Today
I muse on how different and sad my world would be without the magnificent
and special energy the fathers (my husband, my brother, and of course, my
own Dad) in my life bring to it.

Many fathers go uncelebrated, unsung, and unnoticed. The role of the modern
dad is different than it was when I was growing up but fathers, then and now,
are a chief component to our existence. I have many precious memories of my
childhood which highlight the gift of time that my father bestowed on me. We
spent many hours in Prospect Park sledding or bike riding; he helped me with
many school projects which involved patience and woodworking skills, and as
as an adult, there were many times when I found him waiting in the car for
me during inclement weather when I got off the train in Queens.

Time is the most precious commodity we have. I continue to witness my father’s
generosity as he cares for my mother who has Alzheimer’s disease and has been
bedridden at home for the past 5 years. Although I know it is demanding and
tiring, my father has never expressed resentment about the many sacrifices he is
making on a daily basis to make sure my mother is comfortable, something I do
not take for granted. I am proud of my father and I hope that if I am ever called on
to do it, I can follow his noteworthy example.

Spend some time today thinking about your own father, whether he is living or
has transitioned; whether he was a good or not so good father, he is a co-creator
of your life and today is a chance to bury resentment and pardon mistakes. Happy
Father’s Day to all of you who are or hope to be fathers!

Have a great day and a terrific week, Marietta

Bing.com public domain image

Leave a Reply

Categories

