Posted by: marisundays | July 3, 2016

Health and Wellness as we age…

Photo on 4-15-16 at 2.51 PM #2Dear friends,

I love waking up on Sunday mornings. I know that when I walk out
to the terrace with my coffee (from Atenas, of course) in hand, I will
be greeted by the gorgeous layers of mountains that stretch across the
horizon with a breathtaking backdrop of puffy white clouds. Flocks
of colorful birds will fly by and the echo of their song will fill the air
for a few seconds. Sometimes the most unassuming birds are the ones
that have the loveliest voice. Get out early today and stretch your body
in gratitude for all of Nature’s gifts.

IMG_4378

The early years of our life lay the foundation for our view of the world.
Every age has its charms and challenges. When our children were
small, we worked hard to fill their days with the ingredients we felt
were essential for them to grow up secure and healthy. As they (and
we) have aged, I find myself remembering their childhood and
adolescence with nostalgia for the bliss of those early years in which
we were all together physically. I am grateful for every opportunity
our present lives give us to reunite.

My association with the Hogar de Ancianos Senior Residence in Atenas
has prompted me to learn about aging and health from a different view.
Health, as defined by the World Health Organization (WHO), is a state
of complete physical, mental and social well-being, not just the absence
of disease or infirmity. Wellness, according to the National Wellness
Institute, is the full integration of social, emotional, spiritual, environ-
mental, occupational, intellectual and physical well-being. These seven
dimensions, act and interact in a way that contributes to quality of life.

I am inspired every time I visit the Hogar, especially when there are
activities that involve the seniors and young people. I have witnessed
the transformational effect of these intergenerational exchanges in our
community. We are entering a new phase of our lives, one that has me
deeply thinking and planning the future I would like to have as a senior
citizen. Opportunities for personal growth and fun abound these days for
all ages and I feel privileged to be living now.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Pictures from my library

Leave a Reply

Categories

