Posted by: marisundays | September 11, 2016

Celebrating life and peace

Scomari HeadShot
Dear Friends,

My warmest greetings on this lovely Sunday morning. Today is
a wonderful day to get out with your family and pets for a long
walk, enjoying the gifts of Nature in your neighborhood. Do it
early before the day slips away, as we know they can. If you
live in Atenas, today is a great opportunity to enjoy the cattle
auction at 1 p.m. in Sabana Larga and other activities later on.

I returned home last week and have spent the last couple of days
mentally making an inventory of all the things I would like to get
done before the end of the year. We all know how quickly time
passes and I am more aware these days that unless I write things
down, my memory is not what it once was and all my intentions
take a back seat to the unexpected demands on my time. I am
making a concerted effort to focus and prioritize and I have noticed
that at the end of the day, I feel much better about how I’ve spent it.

It is always comforting to return to Atenas, the place I have lived
for more than 14 years. As a result of my past participation in the
projects of the community, I have met many people who care about
our county and step up to do their share when they are needed. We
will be celebrating 195 years of Independence on Thursday and my
recent walk around town reminded me of this fact when my eyes
took in the decorations and my ears recognized the sounds of the
marching bands practicing in the distance. Although many things
have changed in our country, I am proud that our longstanding love
of peace continues to be a reality when I wake up each morning.

I will be celebrating another birthday this week also and I find that
each passing year makes me more appreciative of the people and
opportunities that are present in my life. I am particularly grateful
to my parents for instilling the strong values that have allowed me
to live my life with awareness and commitment. My mission in
writing each week is to remind myself that it is important to leave
a mark and I thank you all for allowing me to share my thoughts
with you.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week celebrating life, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

