Posted by: marisundays | September 18, 2016

Celebrating More Than Independence

costa-rica_flag

Dear Friends,

A typical beautiful morning in Atenas greeted me today. The strong rains
of the season will probably begin this afternoon but right now, the sun is
shining and everything in my life is good. I am grateful once again for the
opportunity to live an exceptional day. Today is the 4th annual MTB event
to fundraise for the Hogar de Ancianos (Senior Citizens Residence) and I
hope to see some of you enjoying the chance to stretch, walk, ride or just
enjoy cheering the cyclists as they pass by.

It is the time of the year when we are taking stock of everything that needs
to be concluded before year’s end in a few months. For people in the U.S.
(and the expats abroad who are able to vote) the coming weeks will be
challenging; responsible citizens know the choice is tough but staying away
from the voting booth is really not an option during this election period.
As I get older, I realize the importance of participating in the electoral
process on a local and national level, even when the candidates fail to
inspire us.

On Thursday, we celebrated Costa Rica’s 195th anniversary of Independence.
I motivated myself to arrive early enough to witness the start of the spectacular
parade for which all the participants have been preparing for months. It was a
time of reflection for me and as I shared the pride of the youngest and oldest
attendees, I was glad I made the effort to be there. One of the most touching
moments was when a senior citizen recited a poem that reflected her joy at
being alive and in a country where peace is still present on most days.

None of us know what the future will bring to us. I am comforted that a place
like the Hogar de Ancianos exists in Atenas and that many others like it are in
the planning stages in our country. In the last few months, I have been able to
enjoy spending time with the residents as they take part in the programs and
activities that are scheduled for them. Their lives are enhanced by the quality
care they receive from the caring and competent staff who watches over them
during their golden years. This is no small thing.

Have a wonderful day, and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

