Posted by: marisundays | November 13, 2016

Open dialogue for needed change

Photo on 6-17-14 at 10.29 AM

Dear Friends,

I welcome another beautiful Atenas Sunday morning. I have had my
breakfast and I am working on my second cup of Atenas coffee while
I admire the view of the sugar cane flowers through the open blinds.
The air is still crisp at this hour and the birds are quieter than usual; is
there a storm brewing, I wonder? Get out early today and enjoy all the
sights and sounds around you.

My husband and I went out for a lovely dinner at a local restaurant on
Friday night. On our way back, I noticed several families have already
decorated their homes with Christmas lights and have even put up their
trees. Marketing campaigns in Costa Rica have expanded “Black Friday”
to “Black November” – a trend that has become a permanent part of the
holiday season shopping frenzy. In our family we are looking forward
to our Thanksgiving celebration in San Jose in 11 days.

I’ve often shared with you how Thanksgiving has always been a special
day for me. Although our children will not be here for this occasion, I
am looking forward to the intoxicating aromas filling my home as I bake
and reminisce about the heartwarming holidays we shared previously.
I am grateful that we were able to make wonderful memories that made
it possible for them to experience the true meaning of community.

The results of the election in the U.S. were unexpected when compared
to predictions by mainstream media, experts and polls! Some voters are
devastated and others are thrilled, as happens after every election. I
am hopeful that the violence and intolerance of the last few days will
subside soon and that citizens will engage in the critical thinking and
open dialogue that can pave the way to much-needed change.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta
Make yourself at home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

