Posted by: marisundays | February 12, 2017

The importance of making a family of community

Scomari HeadShot
Dear Friends,

Greetings on a beautifully invigorating Sunday morning. We have
another opportunity for relaxation and movement. The winds are not
here yet and the songs of the birds all around me make me pause for a
moment to feel grateful for all the goodness in my life. I hope the same
is true for all of you.

As I write I can also hear the singing of the choir in a congregation
just a few meters away. Their warm, optimistic harmony is different
today; the preacher’s arsenal of yelling and shrieking turned down
quite a few notches. Perhaps I find myself in a more receptive mood
in an effort to resist an unconscious tendency to be close-minded at
times. My conscious daily purpose is to contribute and live in a
positive manner, and that is not always easy especially these days.

The last few weeks have been busy. I have been more diligent about
removing the weeds, tending the flowers and watering my small group
of African Violets. I find that devoting a few minutes to them every day
has provided me with a sense of accomplishment that flows into other
areas of my life. I am more aware of my surroundings, spending time
removing some of the junk from the top of my desk and dresser. It is
a really good feeling which I hope will become a permanent habit!

On Friday, Manuel (Manolo) Torrecilla Lopez, the Spanish sculptor
who designed the Oxcart Monument in Atenas died at the age of 62.
Manolo was a long-time resident who has left his mark on Atenas in
the many ways and works he contributed to our town. He once told
me that it was important to him to acknowledge the family one comes
from but that it was just as important to create a family composed of
members of one’s community. I believe he did so successfully and he
will be missed by us all. Rest in peace, Manolo.

Have a terrific day and a wonderful week, Marietta

Responses

  1. Another excellent reminder to enjoy each day as it comes. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

