Posted by: marisundays | February 19, 2017

Interior Garden

img_8035

Dear Friends,

Greetings on a sunny, cool Atenas Sunday morning. I stepped onto
our terrace this morning and closed my eyes. The sun’s heat touched
my shoulders and before it felt like fire and forced me indoors, I was
able to distinguish five distinct bird songs; the sounds of a neighbor’s
child playing with their small dog; the nearby church choir assembling
for worship and off in the distance, the crow of a rooster awakening the
sluggish. I stretched in deep gratitude and took in the sights before
I sat down to write.

The colors of the dry season (mostly drab olives and khakis) used to make
me focus on all the things I missed about the rainy season. Fortunately
our daughter suggested long ago that I begin to appreciate the singular
beauty of Nature’s colors during this time and really see my surroundings
from a different perspective. Although it has taken a number of years,
(and I still prefer the lushness of the rainy season) I have actually become
more conscious of the flowers that bloom at this time for our enjoyment.

The bursting flame vines provide a vivid contrast to the stark gray fences
they cover and climb. The colorful and robust bougainvilleas that
adorn almost every garden inspire me season after season to look for
new colors and places to plant them, though I will admit their thorns
do intimidate the budding gardener in me! The orchids, the cacti and
the tabebuia (cortez) are taking turns blooming and enhancing the
landscape everywhere we look.

With so much going on in our world and in our lives, it is often hard
to stop our frenzied activities and savor the small moments that add
meaning to our existence. I went to the post office a few days ago and
happened to run into several people I had not seen in a while. Although
we chatted only briefly, I returned home uplifted by the experience of
reconnecting. It was a good reminder that our inner garden needs
regular “watering” just like the outer one in order to enjoy good health.

Have a wonderful day and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

