Posted by: marisundays | April 2, 2017

An investment in time brings dividends

Dear Friends,

This morning I rejoice in the richness of my life with deep gratitude
for waking up to another (mildly hazy) layered landscape. I delight in
seeing the same yet different view as I look out my windows each day.
At this moment, there is just a small breeze and I can glimpse the soft
swaying of leaves in the canopy of a tree in the near distance. I enjoy
sipping my second cup of coffee (from Atenas, of course!) while I
mentally prepare for the long day ahead. Get out early today, stretch
and make time to reflect on all the goodness in your life.

Today is day 3 of the 4-day fundraising event at the Hogar de Ancianos
here in Atenas. When I accepted the position of treasurer of this noble
institution in January 2015, I knew it was a serious undertaking which
would modify the way I would be spending at least a couple of after-
noons per month for committee meetings and event planning. I hoped
it would be a worthwhile investment of my time because as I get older,
I have less of it to spend unwisely.

This is my third time participating in the annual fundraiser from the
inside. The first year, I was completely overwhelmed by the logistics
and the amount of volunteers it took to successfully carry out the vision.
My previous pro-bono work in the county was very beneficial because
I had already gotten to know many of the people who answer the call to
serve with their hearts and who do so with integrity. It was wonderful
to be part of the team.

The last 26 months have allowed me to build some very authentic bonds
with paid staff and volunteers who are devoted to making a difference.
I admire people who go out of their way to respond to the yearly call to
help us. They are motivated by something other than money and they
lead by example. I have learned a lot from them and have been able to
enjoy even the mundane task of peeling thousands of potatoes because
we are all in it together. From my perspective, the investment of my
time has brought me multiple dividends.

Have a wonderful Sunday and a terrific week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

