Posted by: marisundays | April 9, 2017

Minimizing the trace

Dear Friends,

I am greeted by a lovely day. After a very busy Saturday that held
lots of activity for me, I feel refreshed from a good night’s rest and I
am ready to spend the day in loving, focused gratitude for the many
blessings in my life, including all of you. Get out early today and
engage in movement and appreciation. Don’t let the day get away.

It often happens to the many of us who spend a lot of time writing
that it feels that our muse is taking a break and that every sentence
is trite and uninspiring and has been written before. Nevertheless, I
know you are all counting on me to write you on Sundays and I am
not going to start today to let you down!

As a general rule I resist other people’s pessimism when focused on
life’s daily obstacles. I know that it is my choice of attitude that will
often determine my mood. When I am tempted to forget to look for
the good in a momentary (potentially) negative circumstance, I take
a deep breath and count to ten. This trick works so marvelously that
I encourage us all to employ as it often as necessary, especially when
we are stuck in traffic or on a long line at the bank or post office.

Last night was the nighttime horse parade in Atenas after an absence
of three or four years. Most of us long-time residents can remember the
sea of debris, trash and remnant aromas filling the air that were left by
attendees the last time, prompting outrage. It was an event we believed
would never be allowed again in our small town. I bravely ventured out
early this morning to assess the condition of the event area. Although
the organizers cannot claim the event “left no trace”, I can say that the
clean-up was acceptable and parishioners have no reason to complain
this Palm Sunday. Part of the funds raised will benefit the Cruz Roja.

Have a great day and a wonderful week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

