Posted by: marisundays | June 18, 2017

A Father’s Day Greeting!

Good Morning Friends,

Greetings to all of you on this glorious Sunday. At this very moment,
I am gratefully aware that I have everything I need to feel nurtured
and alive. I hope the same is true for you. I urge us all to get moving
early today to make the most of the hours when we have lots of good
energy.

One of the memories of my early childhood is sitting in the sun in our
small front yard eating an orange that had been prepared just for me.
I can recall the incredible sensation of the sun shining on my face as
I bit into the sweet-tart juicy pulp that was enhanced with just a sprinkle
of salt. I remember sitting on the grass and letting the liquid fall on the
small plate that would also hold the seeds I carefully avoided biting.

The memories of my idyllic early childhood are vivid and I do recall
missing the connection with nature as I grew up in New York. We were
fortunate, though, because we lived very close to Prospect Park, the
585 acre haven of outstanding beauty in Brooklyn that we would visit
on weekends. In the summer, my city-boy Dad would take us with our
bikes or skates for endless hours. In winter, there was sleigh riding and
fun in the snow. I don’t recall a single time when I felt like he resented
these outings. I am grateful to him for spending precious time with us
and to my husband who has equally nurtured our children.

Today is Father’s Day in Costa Rica and about 60 other countries in the
world. We all have a father. He might be living or may have transitioned.
He might be supportive or critical and strict. He might be an active part
of our lives or we might be estranged from him. Whatever kind of father
he is/was, he is still a co-creator of our very existence and without his
input, we would not be alive to share the gift of ourself with the world. I
encourage us all to spend time thinking about our fathers today and if we
can spend time with them, all the better.

Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads out there today. Have a great day and
a wonderful week, Marietta

Leave a Reply

Categories

