Young Gerontologists

Dear Friends,

A hazy Sunday landscape appears before me. It evokes drama and mystery, two elements that I mostly avoid in my daily life. As I step outside and look in a different direction, my eyes gaze on puffy white clouds against a lovely sky-blue canvas. I breathe deeply, probably inhaling lingering dust particles from Poás. I feel rested and calm, ready to live a quiet day but prepared in case Nature escalates recent activity.

The Scout Motto “Be Prepared” was implanted in my youth and has served me well throughout my life. To me, it is not only about preparing for what may come but about thinking beforehand the possible ramifications that may arise from a single event and knowing what to do and how to do it. Even though I sometimes create events in my mind that rarely take place, I have never regretted being prepared when they do.

Once I accepted that I am quickly headed towards my 70th birthday (2025), I have become an enthusiastic newcomer to the world of a septuagenarian. My life until recently had been about doing and achieving, striving to create “things” so that I could feel myself remaining relevant and leaving a legacy. I am currently getting used to the idea that my relevance and a legacy are not as important as my daily quality of life and being prepared for what comes next.

In the last year, my life has undergone many changes. I have had the immense good fortune of meeting gerontologists who are young and have an amazing capability for compassion. What I notice most is the absence of ageism as they address the many aspects (hearing loss, memory decline) of the aging process. While I realize that they are practicing on elders for the duration, I think both sides benefit from the lifelong bond and that their experiences will enrich future elders.

Have a terrific day and a wonderful week, Marietta

Leave a comment